Amarillo Second-Offense DWI Lawyer

Exposing the Truth book

Get Your FREE Copy of the Book by Stephen Hamilton Exposing the Truth

Secrets of the Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) from alcohol or drugs in Amarillo is a misdemeanor offense punishable by confinement in jail and a hefty fine. The penalties are more severe for a second-offense and could include suspension of the driver’s license and mandatory use of an ignition interlock device, in addition to a fine and imprisonment.

If you are facing criminal charges for a second-offense DWI, consider speaking with an experienced Amarillo lawyer. An attorney could fight to protect your constitutional rights and raise a powerful defense on your behalf. With a skilled legal professional by your side, you may stand a better chance at a positive outcome.

DWI Laws in Amarillo

In Amarillo and throughout Texas, a DWI offense can be elevated to a higher misdemeanor class when there is a prior conviction. It does not matter how much time has elapsed since the first DWI conviction. Even if it has been more than ten years since the first offense, a second DWI is elevated from a Class B misdemeanor to Class A.

Penalties for Second-Offense DWI Convictions

A second-offense DWI in Amarillo is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by 30 days to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $4,000. If a person driving while intoxicated had a child passenger in the car, then the second-offense DWI can be punished as a state jail felony. The penalties for state jail felonies are more severe than for Class A misdemeanors and include imprisonment for a period of 180 days to two years and a fine up to $10,000. An Amarillo DWI second attorney could provide additional details regarding the potential penalties that may be imposed upon conviction.

Other Possible Sanctions

In addition to incarceration and a substantial fine. Other sanctions can also be imposed for a second DWI offense in Amarillo. For instance, someone’s driver’s license can be suspended for up to two years. Other sanctions for a second-offense DWI could include mandatory completion of a DWI education course. Enrollment in a substance abuse rehabilitation program, or community service.

Drivers may also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on any vehicle they own or operate. Ignition interlock devices, also known as deep lung devices. Prevent operation of a vehicle if the driver does not pass a breathalyzer test. A second DWI offense lawyer in Amarillo could answer questions about (IID) requirements. As well as about other possible sanctions that could be imposed for a second offense.

Speak with an Amarillo Second-Offense DWI Attorney

You do not need to face charges for a second-offense DWI on your own, nor should you. Having prior conviction means you could face more severe penalties if convicted. Local authorities are often much less willing to be lenient on repeat offenders. Let an Amarillo second-offense DWI lawyer take your case and fight the charges against you.

An attorney with extensive experience handling DWI cases in the local courts may be in the best position to secure a positive resolution to your case. Call now to get started on your defense.