Get Your FREE Copy of the Book by Stephen Hamilton Exposing the Truth
Secrets of the Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights
Certain items that laboratories use to manufacture controlled substances are regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety. A person, corporation, or institution generally needs to obtain a permit to acquire or transfer a regulated chemical laboratory apparatus. However, if an individual is accused of a laboratory apparatus offense a drug lawyer in Lubbock must be contacted.
Definition of a Laboratory Apparatus
The Texas Controlled Substances Act defines a “chemical laboratory apparatus” as “any item of equipment designed, made, or adapted to manufacture a controlled substance.” That definition can be troublesome since laboratory equipment is generally designed to manufacture chemical compounds of any kind, not specifically controlled substances. A tableting machine that can be used to make tablets containing codeine can also be used to make vitamin tablets.
The definition specifically lists fourteen items. Among those are:
- A condenser
- A distilling apparatus
- A three-neck or distilling flask
- An Erlenmeyer, two-neck, or single-neck flask
- Tableting and encapsulating machines
- A heating mantel
Unlawful Transfer or Receipt
It is a crime in Texas to sell, transfer, or receive a chemical laboratory apparatus under any of the following circumstances:
- The person making the transfer does not have a chemical laboratory apparatus transfer permit issued by the Department of Public Safety;
- The person making the transfer fails to create or retain a required record or report of the transaction;
- The person making the transfer makes a false statement in a required record or report of the transaction;
- The person transferring or receiving the apparatus violates any rule governing the transfer created by the Department of Public Safety.
It is a crime to sell or transfer a chemical laboratory apparatus with the knowledge or intent that it will be used to unlawfully manufacture a controlled substance. The crime is a third-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence of not less than 2 years or more than 10 years.
Penalties for Laboratory Apparatus Offenses
For a first offense, the crime is a state jail felony. Punishable by a state jail sentence of not less than 180 days or more than 2 years. If the accused has previously been convicted of the same crime, the crime is a third-degree felony, punishable by a prison sentence of not less than two years or more than 10 years.
Contacting An Lubbock Drug Attorney
Any felony is a serious charge that can have a drastic impact on your life. If you are charged with a Lubbock laboratory apparatus offense. Contact the criminal defense attorneys at Texas Criminal Defense Group. Furthermore, to make sure your rights are protected and you receive the best defense possible.