Lubbock Aggravated Assault Lawyer

Exposing the Truth book

Get Your FREE Copy of the Book by Stephen Hamilton Exposing the Truth

Secrets of the Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights

Aggravated assault in Lubbock is a serious felony that could result in substantial time in prison, large fines, and a significant social stigma that may affect a person’s future. Facing charges of aggravated assault can leave someone with the stress of an uncertain future.

If you are facing charges of aggravated assault in Lubbock, you may benefit from the assistance of a skilled and passionate attorney. A Lubbock aggravated assault lawyer could potentially provide you with great assistance when building a criminal defense.

Aggravated Assault Under Lubbock Law

Assault includes physical contact that causes bodily injury, threats of bodily injury, or any other type of offensive contact. Texas Penal Code section 22.02 defines aggravated assault as an assault with a deadly weapon or an assault that results in a serious bodily injury to another.

Assault with a Deadly Weapon

One condition of aggravated assault is the use of a deadly weapon. Deadly weapons are any items capable of causing either serious injuries or fatalities. Some of the most common types of deadly weapons include firearms, baseball bats, clubs, bayonets, hands, handheld hard objects, feet, knives, and pellet guns.

Difference Between Simple and Aggravated Assault

A person charged with assault should understand the difference between simple and aggravated assault. If the other individual claiming to assault experienced minor injuries in a physical altercation or did not suffer bodily harm, but simply feared imminent harm, the other person may face charges of simple assault.

In Lubbock, simple assault allegations may result in a person facing a maximum of one year in a prison. In addition to a maximum of $4,000 in fines. Aggravated assault involves one of the aggravating factors previously mentioned and may have much harsher penalties. Speak with a knowledgeable Lubbock aggravated assault lawyer to learn more about the difference between simple and aggravated assault.

The Consequences of Aggravated Assault

Aggravated assault is often a second or third-degree felony. In other words, this could result in an individual facing up to a maximum of 20 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.

In some situations, aggravated assault is a first-degree felony, which results in more serious penalties. A first-degree offense, however, can result in a person facing between five years to life in prison and a fine. First-degree felonies exist when someone:

  • Meant to silence or retaliate against a witness of a crime
  • Assaulted a public service or security officer
  • Committed domestic violence that involved a deadly weapon and resulted in serious bodily harm

Removing an Assault Charge from a Record

Many individuals wonder if they can have an assault charged removed from their record. In situations where the court found that a person was not guilty, or the case was ultimately dismissed. As a result, an individual may be able to have their assault record removed from their criminal record.

In most cases when a person wants to remove an assault charge from a record. They may require the knowledge and expertise of a seasoned attorney. Contact a Lubbock aggravated assault lawyer to learn more on this topic.

Contact an Aggravated Assault Defense Attorney

Aggravated assault is a serious charge. Anyone facing these allegations may be facing years in prison and expensive fines. This makes it important to know your rights and what options may be available to you.

One of the best ways to handle an aggravated assault case is to obtain the services of a talented aggravated assault lawyer. An experienced Lubbock aggravated assault lawyer has a nuanced understanding of the laws. Therefore, surrounding an aggravated assault case and can create a strong legal defense. In conclusion, call a lawyer today to schedule an initial free case evaluation.