Texas Laws & Punishments for Drug Possession & Trafficking
Texas Laws & Punishments for Drug Possession & Trafficking
Texas state laws are known for severe drug trafficking and possession punishments. Therefore, if you or a loved one has been charged by law enforcement with drug trafficking or possession. Contacting an experience drug defense attorney is a must. Texas Criminal Defense Group has 20+ years of experience in drug defense and drug crimes cases. Therefore, helping clients get their drug charges reduced or even dismissed.
Marijuana Punishments & Laws in Texas
With many states legalizing marijuana, unfortunately Texas still sustains their punishments for illegal substances. These punishments will depend on the amount of marijuana and the illegal drug charge that goes along with it.
According to Texas Health and Safety section 481.120 states if you knowingly have marijuana, this will constitute as possession of marijuana, and you will be charged.
As stated above, your punishment and penalties for possession of marijuana will depend on the amount of marijuana you possess.
Having possession of marijuana under two ounces will be considered a Class B misdemeanor. In the state of Texas that punishment can be 180 days in county jail and a fine up to $2,000. In addition to, two years of probation. If you possess 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana. You can face up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
In the state of Texas if you possess more than 4 ounces of marijuana, that is considered a felony. Having 4 ounces to 5 pounds of marijuana will have a punishment of 180 days to 2 years in jail. In addition to a $10,000 fine. Furthermore, for 5 pounds to 50 pounds the punishment is 2 to 10 years in jail. Along with a $10,000 fine.
Marijuana Punishments & Laws in Texas (Continued)
If you possess anywhere from 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana. The punishment is jail time from 2 to 20 years along with a $10,000 fine. Possession of marijuana over 2,000 pounds the punishment is a prison sentence anywhere from 5 to 99 years and a $50,000 fine.
Growing marijuana also known as cultivation of marijuana, in the state of Texas is considered a possession offense. The punishment is dependent on the total weight of the marijuana.
Living in Texas it is easy for delivery, sales, and trafficking of marijuana to take place with living close to both the New Mexico and Colorado boarder. According to Texas Health and Safety Code 481.121 selling up to 7 grams is a misdemeanor with 180 days of jail time with a fine of $2,000.
Sales of 7 grams to 5 pounds is considered a felony in the state of Texas with a punishment 1 year in jail and a $4,000 fine. If you are caught selling marijuana to a minor in the state of Texas that is a felony with up to 2 to 20 years of jail time and a $20,000 fine.
Cocaine Punishments & Laws in Texas
In the state of Texas under the Health and Safety Code 481.115 makes it illegal to deliver, manufacture or possess any amount of cocaine. Punishments for possession of crack cocaine depends on the amount that is involved during the arrest.
Being in possession of cocaine that is under 1 gram is considered state jail felony. In Texas the prison sentence for such felony is 6 months to 2 years. However, courts may take into consideration if this is a first-time offense, and the sentence can be probated. With that being said, the first-time offender could receive probation.
Bring in possession of 1 to 4 grams of cocaine is considered a third-degree felony. In Texas punishment for such crime would bring a fine up to $10,000 fine and a jail sentence of 2 to 10 years according to the Health and Safety Code. Possession of 4 to 200 grams of cocaine is a felony in the second degree. Which will be a punishment of 2 to 20 years in jail as well as a fine of $10,000.
Cocaine Punishments & Laws in Texas (Continued)
A first-degree felony for possession of cocaine in the state of Texas is 200 to 400 grams. Being in possession of this amount brings the punishment of jail time to 5 years to 99 years with a fine of $10,000. Possessing large quantities 400 grams of cocaine would bring a fine of up to $100,000 and a prison sentence of 10 to 99 years according to the Texas Health and Safety Code 481.112.
Delivery of under 1 gram of cocaine brings a fine up to $10,000 and jail time of 180 days up to 2 years. Delivering 400 grams of cocaine or over, brings punishments of prison time of 15 to 99 years and a potential fine of $250,000.
Lastly, manufacturing cocaine in the state of Texas for under 1 gram of cocaine will bring 180 days to 2 years of jail time and fines up to $10,000. Punishments for manufacturing 400 grams and over of cocaine will bring fines to $250,000 and prison time of 15 to 99 years.
Meth Punishments & Laws in Texas
Living in the state of Texas it is a crime to distribute, manufacture or possess methamphetamine. According to The Texas Controlled Substances Act, punishments will depend on the type and number of materials associated with meth. Furthermore, being in possession of meth in the state of Texas. Additionally, will bring a punishment of over a year in prison.
Being in Texas with possession of meth under a gram will lead to 2 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. If in possession of 1 to 3.99 grams, the state of Texas will consider this a crime in the third-degree which will bring the punishment to 2 to 10 years in prison with a fine of $10,000.
Possession of 4 to 199 grams of meth is considered a second-degree felony. Therefore, bringing prison time from 2 to 10 years to 2 to 20 years and a fine of $10,000.
Being in possession of 200 to 399 grams of meth is considered a first-degree felony. Therefore, bringing a fine of $10,000 and 5 to 99 years in prison. Possession of 400 grams or more of meth is also considered a first-degree felony. Which brings the punishment to 10-99 years in prison. In addition to, a fine of $10,000.
In the state of Texas, distributing or manufacturing meth will bring punishments to a higher level. Punishments will depend on the weight of materials. Manufacturing or delivery of 1 to 4 grams of meth serves 2 to 20 years in prison. Punishments for manufacturing or delivering 200 to 400 grams of meth serves 10 to 99 years in prison.
Don’t Plea, Call Me!
In conclusion, if you find yourself or a loved one facing type of drug possession charges in Texas. You will need an experienced defense attorney to protect your legal rights. You need our skilled and seasoned attorneys at Texas Criminal Defense Group.
If you live in Lubbock County, Potter County, Randall County, Dallas County, Denton County, Midland County or Tarrant County. Lastly, contact our attorneys at Texas Criminal Defense Group for a legal review of your case.