10 Mistakes to Avoid After a DWI/DUI Arrest in Texas
Being arrested in Texas for a DWI or DUI (Driving under the influence) you should be aware of some mistakes people make after being arrested and what you can do to avoid them. Some of the most common mistakes people have made after being released from jail are listed below.
Failing to contact an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as possible after the arrest.
It is important to have legal representation to protect your rights and defend against the charges. It is important to contact an experienced DWI lawyer as soon as possible. A DWI lawyer can help you understand the charges against you and advise you on the best course of action.
They can also represent you in court, negotiate with the prosecution, and work to get the charges reduced or dismissed. It is important to have legal representation because a DWI charge and conviction can have serious consequences, such as jail time, fines and driver’s license suspension. An experienced DWI attorney can help you navigate the legal process and fight to protect your rights.
Making statements to the police or prosecution without consulting a lawyer.
Anything you say can be used against you in court, so it is important to have legal representation before making any statements. If you are arrested with a DWI or under the influence of alcohol, it is important to exercise your right to remain silent and not make any statements to the police or prosecution without consulting a lawyer.
Anything you say can be used against you in court, so it is important to have legal representation before making any statements. Having an experienced DWI lawyer can advise you on what to say and what not to say to protect your rights and defend the charges.
Failing to Request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) Hearing.
If you are arrested by a police officer for a DWI in Texas, you only have 15 days to request an ALR hearing to try to keep your license. Being arrested in Texas with a DWI your driver’s license may be automatically suspended by the Department of Public Safety (DPS). You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative license revocation hearing to try and keep your license.
If you do not request an ALR hearing within this time frame, you will lose your right to challenge the suspension of your driers license. An experienced DWI lawyer can help you request an ALR hearing and represent you at that hearing.
Continue to Drive on a Suspended or Revoked License.
If your license is suspended or revoked, it is illegal to drive. Doing so can result in additional criminal charges and penalties. Being caught driving while your license is suspended or revoked you could face additional criminal charges such as jail time and fines.
It is important to follow the terms of your license suspension or revocation and not drive until your license is reinstated. An experienced DWI lawyer can advise you on the steps you need to take to get your license reinstated and defend you against any additional criminal charges to help regain your driving privileges.
Failing to Install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) if required.
In some cases, a judge may order the installation of an IID as a condition of reinstating your driver’s license. Failure to install the device can result in further license suspension. An IID, short for Ignition Interlock Device, is a mechanism that installs in a car’s ignition. To start the vehicle, the driver must breathe into it to analyze their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to make sure you’re not driving while impaired..
In some cases, a judge may order the installation of an IID as a condition of reinstating your driver’s license after a DWI conviction. If you are required to install an IID and fail to do so, your driver’s license may be suspended again. It is important to follow any requirements for installing an IID and to use the device as required to avoid further license suspension.
Failing to Attend Required Alcohol Education or Treatment Programs.
If a judge orders alcohol education or treatment as part of your sentence, it is important to complete these programs as required. Alcohol education and treatment programs can help you understand the risks and consequences of alcohol abuse and learn how to make better choices in the future.
However, failing to attend required alcohol education or treatment programs can result in additional penalties, such as jail time or fines.
Failing to Pay Fines or Court Costs.
Failing to pay the fines and court costs associated with a DWI conviction can result in additional penalties, such as wage garnishment or a driver’s license suspension. If you fail to pay these fines and court costs, the court can take action to collect the money.
It is important to follow the terms of your sentence and pay any required fines and court costs in a timely manner to avoid additional penalties.
Driving without Car Insurance.
Texas law requires drivers to have car insurance. If you are convicted of a DWI, your insurance premiums may increase, and you may even have trouble finding an insurance company that will cover you.
It is important to maintain car insurance to protect yourself and others in the event of a car accident. If you are caught driving without car insurance, you could be fined, and your driver’s license may be suspended.
Failing to Disclose the DWI Conviction on Job or Insurance Applications.
Lying on a job or insurance application about a DWI conviction can result in serious consequences. If you lie on a job application and are hired, you could be fired if the employer finds out about the conviction later.
If you lie on an insurance application and the convictions discovered, the insurance company may deny your application or cancel your policy.
Violating the Terms of Probation or Community Supervision.
If you are placed on probation or community supervision as part of your sentence, it is important to follow the rules and conditions set forth by the court. Violating these terms can result in additional penalties. Probation and community supervision are alternatives to jail that allow people to serve their sentence while living in the community.
If you are placed on probation or community supervision as part of your sentence for a DWI conviction, you will be required to follow certain rules and conditions set forth by the court. These may include requirements to maintain employment, attend alcohol education or treatment programs, refrain from using alcohol or drugs, and report to a probation officer.
Therefore, if you violate these terms of your probation or community supervision. ou could be sentenced to serve the remainder of your sentence in jail or prison.
Arrested? Don’t Plea, Call Me!
If you live in Lubbock County, Potter County, Randall County, Dallas County, Denton County, Midland County or Tarrant County, contact our law firm Texas Criminal Defense Group today for a review of your DWI or DUI case. We are the DWI Attorneys you want on your side specializing in DWI cases.
DWI and DUI penalties and punishments are serious, and with that seriousness you need a legal team that will fight for protecting your rights. Therefore, we can help you to avoid the common mistakes people make after a DWI arrest.