Get Your FREE Copy of the Book by Stephen Hamilton Exposing the Truth
Secrets of the Texas Criminal Justice System and Your Rights
The process for legal possession of a firearm in Lubbock is fairly simple as long as an individual can pass the background check that is required. Right now, with the federal background check, if the person does not have anything that would eliminate their ability to buy that gun, there are few restrictions on the purchase of a gun. Lubbock gun laws are more heavily geared toward firearm distribution as there is concern about how a person sells a gun and who they sell it to. With that said, illegal
Lubbock gun laws are more heavily geared toward firearm distribution as there is concern about how a person sells a gun and who they sell it to. With that said, illegal possession of a firearm is still a serious offense with severe penalties and therefore warrants contact with a Lubbock gun lawyer as soon as possible.
Gun Possession Considerations
Texas is one of the states where most people believe deeply in the Second Amendment and their right to possess a firearm. There is a lot of hunting and other outdoor activities as well as protection of oneself. When considering how strict laws are in Lubbock. The most important consideration is about if a person is not eligible to possess a gun. A situation when the person has a prior felony or is entering into that with a felony. Then it is a factor, especially if they get caught with a gun because of their history.
Concealed Handgun Licenses
In order for a person to carry a concealed handgun in Lubbock they are required to carry the concealed handgun license at all times. If they are stopped by law enforcement, they are required to notify law enforcement immediately. For example, if a person is stopped for speeding and the police come up. One of the first things they need to do is tell the officers they have a concealed handgun and a concealed handgun license. And provide the police with a copy of that concealed handgun license. A person does not have to be registered to own the gun. Only if a person is carrying it in a concealed manner or an open carry.
Illegal Possession Penalties
What happens following the event when someone is found to have illegal possession of a firearm in Lubbock will ultimately depend on the specific offense. But penalties can vary. If it is an unlawful carrying of a weapon. That is a Class A misdemeanor that can carry up to one year in the county jail or $4,000 fine. A person could be placed on probation for up to two years. That would eliminate their right to get a concealed handgun license for 10 years.
If an individual is charged with a violation of a concealed handgun, is a felon in possession. Or is on a deferred adjudication, that can be a third-degree felony. Or higher if that person has prior felony convictions. A third-degree felony could subject a person to a penitentiary trip of not less than two years. But not more than 10 years in the penitentiary and up to a $10,000 fine.
Behaviors to Avoid
Just because a person possesses a firearm does not mean that they can use the firearm in any way to threaten, intimidate, or harass anyone. A person is not supposed to pull it out or make reference to it as far as. Even patting it or talking about it. That can become an implied threat. No one is supposed to know that a person is carrying unless they are carrying it in an open carry. But a person is not allowed to pull it out and use it to intimidate.